Tuesday, December 7th, 2021 Church Directory
MEMBERS OF THE BECKER BULLDOG GIRLS CROSS COUNTRY TEAM held up their awards and honors they received at their end-of-the-year banquet Nov. 4. (Submitted Photo).

Girls CC celebrates fantastic season

The Becker girls cross country team held their annual awards night, Thurs.,  Nov. 4. They celebrated with pizza and cake while recognizing their activities over the 2021 season.

Becker girls were recognized academically with the Minnesota Coaches Association Gold Team award, and the Mississippi 8 Academic Gold team award. Individual Academic All Conference awards were presented to Tasha Berthiaume, Bella Duncombe, Kayla Gruenes, Regan Hausmann, Brooklyn Karel, Lexi Rose, Meghan Swanson, Abi Berning and Emilia Kansen.

The Scholar Athlete award went to Kayla Gruenes.

Academic All State was presented to Lexi Rose.

Individual Awards  voted on by teammates were presented to:

Most Dedicated: Bella Duncombe;

Most Improved : Olivia Babler, Alea Briggs;

Rookie Award: Paige Maunu;

Also individual awards were presented to:

Most Valuable: Lexi Rose;

Bulldog Spirit Award: Kayla Gruenes;   

Breakout Race Award: Ella McDonald.

The Becker coaches and runners bid a fond farewell to their lone senior runner, Paige Maunu.

“We enjoyed having her on the team with us and are glad she joined us,” said Head Coach Trish Kealy.

The team celebrated winning the Mississippi 8 Conference Championship and  the Mississippi 8 JV Championship.

Several members received their All Conference Awards: Lexi Rose, Ella McDonald, Olivia Babler, Brooklyn Karel, Bella Duncombe, Tasha Berthiaume, Alea Briggs.  Receiving Honorable Mention was Katelyn Brower.

The entire team received championship t-shirts.

Becker’s Section 5AA win was also celebrated with the reminder to go and cheer the team and the two boys qualifiers on during the 2021 State Meet that was held at St. Olaf College. There the girls attained sixth place as a team out of the 16 teams competing.

“We had an exciting season and are looking forward to more to celebrate next year,” said Kealy.”Thank you to everyone that gave us support throughout the season.”