Thursday, January 21st, 2021 Church Directory
THE BECKER BULLDOG GIRLS SOCCER SENIORS posed for this photo to kick off the 2020 season. Left to right: Madi Temple, Elle Schendzielos, Izzy Carson, Gretchen Graftaas, Megan Gamble, Mallory King, Faith Madsen, Kaylin Peterson and Alaynna Suchy. (Photo by Chris Lommel).

Becker girls soccer team holds virtual banquet

The Becker High School girls soccer team officially ended their season with a varsity only virtual banquet this past week. 

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, Coach  Ben Strom had to limit the banquet to varsity-only members.

Coach Strom had a lot of nice words and compliments to the players on all three squads. Both JV and JV2 had winning seasons. Coaches Isabelle Strom and Chloe Rothstein were very pleased with how far the teams came in their shortened season.

Individual and team awards were given out at the banquet.

All conference- Kaylin Peterson;

All Conference Honorable Mention - Faith Madsen, Megan Gamble, Isabelle Carlson, Alaynna Suchy, and Sarena St. Denis;

Most Valuable Player award - Kaylin Peterson and Sarena St. Denis;

Most Improved - Ava Ewald;

Rookie of the Year - Hailey Szabla;

Coaches Award - Faith Madsen and Amanda Miner;

Bulldog Award - Elle Schendzielos;

Team Spirit Award - Riley Norberg;

Most Dedicated - Alaynna Suchy;

Scholar Athlete - Megan Gamble;

Academic All Conference - Megan Gamble, Kaylin Peterson, Faith Madsen, Alaynna Suchy, Isabelle Carlson, Gretchen Graftaas, Mallory King, Elle Schendzielos, Sarena St. Denis, Kennedy Rusin, Riley Norberg, Meagen Haessly, Amanda Miner, Ava Ewald, Rachel Fuller, Alayna Moeller.

This years Letter Winners were: Megan Gamble, Faith Madsen, Kaylin Peterson, Alaynna Suchy (all four year letter recipients), Adaline Kent, Sarena St. Denis, Isabelle Carlson, Elle Schendzielos, Kennedy Rusin, Riley Norberg, (three year recipients); Rachel Fuller (two year recipient); Alayna Moeller, Ava Ewald, Mackenzie Janish, Mallory King, Gretchen Graftaas, Amanda Miner, Imogen Mohler, Hailey Szabla, Liz Mackadenz, Meagen Haessly (1st year letter recipients).

The girls ended their crazy 2020 season with a 2-11-1 record. They finished the regular season without a win, but shocked the league with two playoff wins over Big Lake and Heritage Christian Academy before losing to Orono in the Section 6A final.

Gamble was the team’s top scorer with seven goals followed by Suchy with four and Norberg with three.

Madsen had the most team assists (six) followed by Gamble with three.

Goalkeeper Amanda Miner played seven games and finished with a .793 save percentage and four goals allowed a game. Sophonore Elizabeth Mackedanz played four games in goal and had an .852 save percentage and a two goal a game average.

Gamble played two games in goal, giving up five goals in 20 shots.