Thursday, August 18th, 2022 Church Directory
PICTURED ABOVE are the boys and girls track teams All-Conference and Honorable Mention. (Submitted Photo).
SPECIAL AWARDS were handed out at last week’s track & field picnic at City Park. (Submitted Photo).

Girls track team holds year-end picnic

The Becker Bulldog girls and boys track teams held their yearly picnic at the Becker City Park and handed out several awards to the team.

Girls Squad

Academically, the girls earned the Team Gold Standard for their GPA given by the MSHSCA.  All Conference Academic went to Paige Maunu, Sarah Woelfel, Skylar Schug, Kayla Gruenes, Regan Hausmann, Brooklyn Karel, Alea Briggs, Lexi Rose, Lauren Woelfel, Abby Atwood, Reese Hausmann and Olivia Maunu.

All State Academic went to Sarah Woelfel, Lexi Rose, Lauren Woelfel, Paige Maunu, Alea Briggs and Brooklyn Karel.

Special awards given:

Scholar Athlete - Kayla Gruenes;

High Point Scorer - Lexi Rose;

Most Dedicated - Ella McDonald;

Most Improved - Brooklyn Karel;

Rookie - Karen Soulane and Ella McDonald;

Bulldog Spirit Award - Kayla Paulson and Kayla Gruenes.

All Conference - Lexi Rose, Ella McDonald, Sarah Woelfel, Paige Maunu, Katelyn Brower, Abby Atwood, Kayla Gruenes, Alea Briggs, Lauren Woelfel.

Honorable Mention - Kylee Morton, Regan Hausmann, Reese Hausmann, Kailey Thompson, Lexi Rose, Brooklyn Karel, Alea Briggs, Ella McDonald, Olivia Babler, Lauren Woelfel.

New Additions to Becker Honor Roll: Paige Maunu - shot and long jump,  Lauren Woelfel - Pole Vault     Regan Hausmann - 300 hurdles      kailey Thompson - 300 hurdles     Sarah Woelfel - 100 hurdles     Ella McDonald- 3200 and 1600    Olivia Babler - 3200    Lexi Rose 1600 and 800    Brooklyn Karel - 800    Katelyn Brower - 800.

State Meet Entrants and All State Awards: Lexi Rose, Ella McDonald, Alea Briggs and Brooklyn Karel.

The team says “farewell” to their four seniors - Madalynn Finney, Skylar Schug, Paige Maunu and Sarah Woelfel. 

“They have all been with us and each contributed a lot to our team,” said Head Coach Trish Kealy.  “We will miss them next year and wish them the best!”

Kealy also thanked everyone for the support her team received this season.

“The parents, the coverage by the newspaper and the activities office,” she said. “I would also like to give a shout out to the other coaches on our staff who each do a wonderful job with our teams — Paul Schmidt, Dustin Weege and Tony Miller. We look forward to next year!”