Wednesday, July 28th, 2021 Church Directory

Girls track stars celebrate 2021 season

The Becker Lady Bulldog track team had their final meet of the season last week at their Section 8AA meet.

While they did not have anyone make it to finals, they had several PR (personal record) performances.

Becker’s 4x800 relay team of Meghan Swanson, Kayla Gruenes, Alea Briggs and Lexi Rose did earn a place on the awards stand.  After a rough start due to one of the girls feeling unwell, (she gave everything she had) the others ran after it and came back to track down several other teams and finish eighth (which was their seed spot).  

“Proud of their never-say-die attitude,” said Head Coach Trish Kealy.

Lauren Woelfel finished in ninth place (just off the podium) in the pole vault with a tie for her PR of 8’ 6”.  Also nearly making finals was Abby Atwood, who was 11th in the 400 with a PR time of 64.84.  Alea Briggs earned a PR in the 400 as well (64.99).  Katelyn Brower achieved a PR in the 800 (2:40.06).

“It was a good season with great teammates,” said Kealy.”We are grateful to have been able to compete.”

Thursday, the Bulldogs held their awards picnic at the Becker City Park.

Awards Night

Academically, the team earned the MSHSL Coaches Association Gold Award as well as the Academic All Conference Gold Team Award. There were multiple academic all conference individual awards also as the girls had five Academic All State Award winners.  They are Kayla Gruenes, Meghan Swanson, Regan Hausmann, Alea Briggs and Lexi Rose. To earn that award, one had to either be all conference, a state meet competitor, or make the MSHSL honor roll and have a G.P.A. of at least 3.6.

Becker’s Scholar Athlete (Top GPA varsity letter winner that has completed their sophomore year — this year’s junior or above) this year was Sarah Woelfel.

Letter Winners this year were: Kayla Gruenes, Olivia Babler, Brooklyn Karel, Alea Briggs, Evelyn Kreft, Lauren Woelfel, Meghan Swanson, Katelyn Brower, Abby Atwood and managers Chleo Setrum, Abi Berning and Aylla King.  Those girls were all first year letter winners.

Girls who earned a letter previously as well as this year are: Anna Briggs, Whitney Schug, Lexi Rose, Jessica Gruenes, Paige Maunu, Cassidy Pleoger, Sarah Woelfel, Grace Schendel and Regan Hausmann.

Individual Awards:  High point scorer: Cassidy Pleoger,      (other awards voted on by teammates):  Most Dedicated: Meghan Swanson;  Most Improved: Olivia Babler and Alea Briggs;       Rookie of the year 2021: Evelyn Kreft.

2021 Captains: Anna Briggs Jessica Gruenes, Cassidy Pleoger, Grace Schendel and Whitney Schug.

2022 Captains: Paige Maunu, Skylar Schug, Sarah Woelfel, Regan Hausmann, Kayla Gruenes and Brooklyn Karel.

All Conference winners: Regan Hausmann-300 Hurdles,  Lexi Rose 1600 meters and 4x800 relay, Kayla Gruenes 4x800 relay, Meghan Swanson 4x800 relay and Alea Briggs 4x800 relay.  Honorable mention: Cassidy Pleoger 100 meters,  Abby Atwood 400 meters, Alea Briggs 400 meters, Kayla Gruenes 800 meters and Sarah Woelfel high jump.

New additions to Becker Honor Roll: Lexi Rose 1600 meters, Regan Hausmann 300 hurdles,  Lauren Woelfel Pole Vault, Evelyn Kreft Shot Put and Discus.

Becker says goodbye to six seniors this year: Jessica Gruenes - five year veteran, Grace Schendel, four year veteran, Anna Briggs, six year veteran, Whitney Schug, six year veteran, Cassidy Pleoger, six year veteran and Annika Howe, one year team member. 

“These young ladies have been a joy,” said their head coach.

Becker leaves Section 8AA this year because the MSHSL has finally added a third class to track and field. Next year, the Bulldogs will compete in section 5AA with Big Lake, Foley, Milaca, Monticello, Princeton, Sauk Rapids Rice, Spectrum, St Cloud Tech, St Cloud Apollo, St Francis and Zimmerman.

“Thank you to everyone who supported us this season including but not limited to:  parents, Jesse O’Neill and Dave Niemi from the activities office, custodial  staff, bus drivers, Patriot newspaper, Lommel Photography, all those who worked our home meets, spouses of coaching staff and so many more,” said Kealy.