Monday, April 22nd, 2024 Church Directory
THE BECKER WRESTLING TEAM won the section championship and are headed to state! (Submitted Photo).

Becker Wrestlers going to state!

Last week, Becker wrestlers took on Dassel-Cokato-Litchfield, Rocori, and Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted in order to claim their title as section champions. Each team came ready to compete, but none of them were quite ready for Becker’s unstoppable team. With three consecutive wins, Becker secured the section champions title and will continue on to wrestle at state for the third year in a row.

Becker vs. Dassel-Cokato-Litchfield

The quarterfinals began with Becker wrestling Dassel-Cokato-Litchfield. Boston Kuschel from Becker and Krey Penk from DCL were the first wrestlers to compete in the quarterfinals.

Kuschel started off strong when he beat Penk in a first round fall and earned six team points. Following Kuschel’s match was Bennett Kujawa, who defeated his DCL opponent in a 19-3 technical fall. 

Up next, four Becker wrestlers managed to take out their DOL competition by either first or second round falls. These four wrestlers, Blayne Kuschel, Tyler Hall, Nolan Jurek, and Kaden Nicolas, gave Becker a total of 24 team points. Becker’s team score went up another six points after Landen Kujawa’s match ended with his DOL opponent forfeiting. 

The only other match that ended with a forfeit in the quarterfinals was Aiden Golley’s match. 

The next two matches finished with Becker wrestlers, Jake Rosenow and Drew May, receiving first round falls. Logan Jarvis come out victorious with a 14-1 decision. The last pin in the quarterfinals occurred when Owen Angell secured a first round fall against Johnny Berg from DOL. Becker finished with a total of 69 points and left Dassel-Cokato-Litchfield with a total of three points.

Becker vs. Rocori

The semifinals consisted of Becker competing against Rocori with both teams hoping to move on to the finals. Just like in the quarterfinals, Boston Kuschel managed a first round fall when he wrestled Zac Humbert from Rocori. Bennett Kujawa received a technical fall in the semifinals and in the quarterfinals; however, in the semifinals he ended with a 18-3 instead of a 19-3. 

Blayne Kuschel, Nolan Jurek, and Landen Kujawa won their matches by earning decisions. During their matches Blayne received a 2-0 decision, Nolan received a 13-6 decision, and Landen received an 8-3 decision. 

The next three Becker wrestlers conquered the mat by pinning their Rocori opponents. Kaden Nicolas earned a first round fall, Drew May earned a second round fall, and Owen Angell earned a third round fall. The final score was 38-25. This meant that Becker would be moving on to section finals.

Becker vs. Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted

Becker and Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted made it to the finals to compete for section champs. Becker wrestlers, Boston Kuschel and Bennett Kujawa, started the finals off by pinning their opponents. Both matches contributed six points to Becker’s team score while HLWW remained at zero. 

Kaden Nicolas and Jake Rosenow also ended their matches by pinning their HLWW competitors. More points were added to Becker’s team score when Landen Kujawa won his match in a 13-5 major decision. A nail biting match occurred between Becker wrestler Logan Jarvis and HLWW wrestler Tyler Graczyk. The two wrestlers were neck-and-neck until Jarvis pulled ahead and won with a 7-5 victory. 

Drew May and Owen Angell were the last two Becker wrestlers to score points in the section finals. May’s match ended in a third round fall while Angell’s match ended with a first round fall. 

The section championship was awarded to Becker after their 43-20 win over HLWW. 

Up next, Becker looks forward to individual sections and state in the coming weeks.