Saturday, June 22nd, 2024 Church Directory

Becker softball finishes 3rd in sections

The Becker girls softball team completed their season finishing third at sections.

Becker Vs. Big Lake

Last Tuesday, the Becker softball team traveled to Elk River to play in the final four Section 5AAA playoffs. The Bulldogs took on the Big Lake Hornets in the first elimination game. 

The Bulldogs would take the lead in the bottom of the first with a two-out rally. Norah Fitzpatrick came out swinging when she singled and stole second base. Kaylyn Patnode walked, followed by Lauren Ergen, who hit a two-run triple to right field. 

The Hornets managed only four hits and two walks the entire game, but came away victorious.

Jaimee Cook had eight strikeouts.

Becker Vs. Delano

With the win under their belt, the Bulldogs would move on to play the number one seed Delano Tigers. 

In the bottom of the first, the Tigers managed to load the bases with nobody out but scored just one run. In the bottom of the third, the Tigers scored three more runs to extend their lead to 4-0. 

Another run was scored by the Tigers in the sixth which gave them all they needed in a 5-0 win. 

Cook took the loss while Allie Duncombe (3-3), Ady Petty (2-4), and Jackie Neumann (1-3, hit by pitch) had good games at the plate.

The Bulldogs would finish off their season in third place in Section 5AAA while St. Francis was crowned the champion. The Bulldogs overall record for the season ended at 14-10 and they finished in third place in the Mississippi 8 Conference. Coach Baune commented, “It was a season of learning, hard work, and having a lot of fun. While there are always bumps in the road, this team showed great improvement from the beginning to end and the players should be very proud.”


The Becker softball team also hosted a banquet where multiple awards were given to numerous players. Academic awards were given to Jackie Neumann, Lily Warren, and Ady Petty. Time letter winners were: Kaylyn Patnode, Lily Warren, Kalli Josewski, Bella Hunter, and Maddie Gardner. Multi-year letter winners were: Norah Fitzpatrick, Jackie Neumann, Jaimee Cook, Lauren Ergen, Allie Duncombe, and Ady Petty. 

All-Tournament team was awarded to Cook and Neumann. Patnode earned honorable mention All-Conference. All-Conference Award winners were: Fitzpatrick, Neumann, Cook, and Petty. Cook and Ergen were named to the Section 5AAA All-Tournament Team. Fitzpatrick was named Class AAA 1st Team All-State, Petty was named Class AAA All-State honorable mention. Coaches gave out awards to Petty for Most Dedicated Player, Lily Warren for Most Improved Player, and Cook for Most Valuable Player. 

Finally, the John Wooden Pyramid of Success Award was awarded to Neumann by her coaches.