Saturday, April 13th, 2024 Church Directory
Becker’s gymnastics team recently celebrated their season with an end of the year awards banquet. One of the accomplishments Coach Jen Harmoning was most proud of was sending three athletes to the MSHSL Class A gymnastics meet. State performers included: Karli Kirk, Lauren Woelfel and Emma Hennessey. (Submitted photo.)
Brent Wuollet was named the Section 7A Assistant Gymnastics Coach of the Year. (Submitted photo.)

Becker gymnasts celebrate season

The Becker gymnastics 2022-2023 season was one to remember, with a number of highlights and accomplishments celebrated at last week’s end of the year banquet.

Becker Hall of Fame Coach Jen Harmoning returned to the team this season after a several year hiatus and she was very complimentary of the work her athletes put into their season.  She was especially proud of her three state competitors, noting their strong performances and excellent character.

“I am so proud of the way they competed at a high level and represented Becker and Section 7A,” Harmoning said.

Becker’s group was talented in the sport, but also achieved highly in the classroom, as a total of 15 girls earned the Spotlight on Scholarship Award for having a GPA above 3.0: Lauren Biegler, Lillian Bonsante, Sabrina Jensen, Karli Kirk, Chloe Spear, Sofia Bonsante, Bella Kuschel, Alison Woodard, Hailey Deters, Hailey Duncombe, Emma Hennessey, Carla Neuss, Elaina Schneider, Lauren Woelfel and Cassie Larson.

Kirk, Spear, Kuschel, Woelfel and Larson also earned the All-Conference Academic Honors by having a GPA above 3.7 while earning their varsity letter.  Larson was named team Scholar Athlete for having the highest GPA.

As a team, Becker was the Mississippi 8 Gymnastics Conference Academic Champions and earned the GOLD Academic Award issued by the State High School Coaches Association.

Harmoning announced the following winners at the banquet: participation season awards: Akira Hansen, Isabella Martner, Lauren Biegler, Abbey Hennen, Sabrina Jensen, Sofia Bonsante, Alejandra Sanz Perez, Hailey Deters, Hailey Duncombe, Evi Eeftink, Carla Neuss and Elaina Schneider.

Letter Winners: 1st year- Alison Woodard, Lillian Bonsante, Karli Kirk; 2nd year- Emma Hennessey, Bella Kuschel; 3rd year- Cassie Larson, Chloe Spear; 5th year- Lauren Woelfel.

Mississippi 8 All-Conference Honorable Mention award:, Lauren Woelfel, Bella Kuschel and Karli Kirk.

Mississippi 8 All-Conference (first team): Emma Hennessey.

All-State Honorable Mention: Lauren Woelfel: vault, beam, floor, all-around; Bella Kuschel: floor; Karli Kirk: bars, beam, all-around; Emma Hennessey: bars, beam, floor, all-around.

All-State: Kirk: vault; Hennessey: vault.

Most Improved award was given to Hailey Duncombe, while the  Most Spirited went to Alison Woodard.  Larson earned the Most Dedicated award.


Activities Director Dave Niemi last week announced that Assistant Coach Brent Wuollet was named the Section 7A Assistant Coach of the Year.

“Brent does an excellent job working with our gymnasts and carries the very important role of spotter for our gymnastics team,” Niemi said. “He is very worthy of being selected for this award.”