Question: I know it’s discouraged, but is it actually illegal for students to stand on a school bus while it is moving?
Answer: Minnesota state law says no person shall stand in a school bus when the bus is in motion. In addition the aisle and emergency exit of a school bus shall be kept unobstructed at all times when children are being transported.
Stop for school buses: it’s the law
- State law requires all vehicles to stop for school buses when the bus driver activates the flashing lights and has the stop-arm fully extended.
- Drivers who violate the law face a $500 fine.
- Drivers can face more severe criminal charges for passing a school bus on the right, passing when a child is outside the bus, or injuring or killing a child.
- Motorists must stop at least 20 feet from a school bus that is displaying red flashing lights and an extended stop-arm. Motorists traveling in the opposite direction on a divided roadway are not required to stop.
- Motorists should slow down, pay attention and anticipate school children and buses, especially in neighborhoods and school zones.
- The best way to be aware of your surroundings at all times is to put the distractions away.
- When getting off a bus, look to be sure no cars are passing on the shoulder.
- Wait for the bus driver to signal that it's safe to cross.
- When crossing the street to get on the bus or to go home, make eye contact with motorists before proceeding.
A portion of state statutes were used with permission from the Office of the Revisor of Statutes. If you have any questions concerning traffic related laws or issues in Minnesota, send your questions to Trp. Jesse Grabow – Minnesota State Patrol at 1000 Highway 10 West, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-2205. (You can follow him on Twitter @MSPPIO_NW or reach him at, email@example.com).